Mentors

Mentors? What is that?

The Mentors are students who help their fellow students and want to be students, by providing them with advice and practical support for your studies.

And who are they?

The three Mentors are France-Audrey Magro (left), Stephanie Meier (middle) and Carola Detring (right).

Who are they exactly? What do they do?

The target group of our mentors are primarily first-year students. They often need the most support when it comes to understanding, assessing and mastering the numerous new demands and problems that the new courses of studying brings with it. This is why the first encounter with us takes place during the matriculation ceremony at the department of Earth Sciences. In the following week the first event will take place at the Institute of Meteorology, where you will get to know the professors and we will guide you through the Institute. In the course of the semester we organize so-called "mentories". In the mentories, we discuss topics in smaller groups, where problems may have arised at the beginning of the semester. For example, finding an internship, examanination preparations or information about having a semester abroad (e.g. with ERASMUS) these are just a few examples. We have no fixed office hours, but you can contact us at any time with your questions, concerns or needs, whether in person at the institute or by sending an email to: mentor@met.fu-berlin.de. This can be everything to do with your studies or concerning your studies: e.g. timetable draft, questions about examinations, receiving your grades, changing of contact persons, if there is need for assistance from an official side and much more besides.

And when do I have to appear for the first semester?

General information about the semester you can find here Akademischen Terminkalender. Information about the courses you will find here Vorlesungsverzeichnis (course catalogue). By clicking until you reach the study programme "Bachelor Meteorologie" (you are studying according to the study regulations from 2012), then you will see which modules are being offered, when and where they will take place. Also information about the contents of the course. The most important Dates at the beginning of the semester are:  

Matriculation ceremony of the Department of Geosciences: Tuesday, 9th October 2018, 10:00 am, where: Geocampus Lankwitz, Malteserstr. 74-100, 12249 Berlin, Building G, Lecture Hall 202 (2. Floor) 

      • New in Berlin: You can get to the Geocampus with the bus X83 and you get off the bus at the bus stop: Emmichstraße
      • The represeentatives of different institutes will introduce themselves (Geographical Sciences, Geological Sciences, Meteorology) and you will get a information about the department. At the end there will be some snacks and you will receive the likeable AStA-Bags and FU Bags!

Introduction of the Meteorology: Monday, 15th October 2018, 11:00 am, Where: Institute for Meteorology, Carl-Heinrich-Becker-Weg 6-10, 12165 Berlin, Room 189 (New Lecture Hall)

      • Your first event at IfM! The building is very complicated and confusing, so please be punctual (and for many afterwards).
      • At the end of the introduction, we the mentors will take you around the institute. Besides we will put you in small groups in which the mentories will take place later.

First Lecture "Basics of Meteorology: Wednesday, 17th October 2018, 9:00 am, Where: Institute for Meteorology, Carl-Heinrich-Becker-Weg 6-10, 12165 Berlin, Room 189 (New Lecture Hall)


Success and see you soon!!!  


Contact Email: mentor@met.fu-berlin.de

You can talk to us personally within the framework of the FU-Info-Events like inFU:Tage (21.05. and 22.05.2019) , also at the Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften (15.06.2019) we the representatives of the Fachschaftsinitiative.

Mentoren - Was'n das?

Die Mentoren sind Studierende, die ihren Mitstudierenden und solchen, die es werden wollen, mit Rat und Tat zum Studium zur Seite stehen.

Und wer seid Ihr überhaupt?

Zu den Mentoren gehören Dominik Dietzel (links), France-Audrey Magro (mittig) und Stephanie Meier (rechts).

Geht es auch genauer? Was macht Ihr denn nun eigentlich?

Zielgruppe von uns Mentoren sind vor allem die Studienanfänger. Diese brauchen oft am meisten Beistand, wenn es gilt, die zahlreichen neuen Anforderungen und Probleme, die das begonnene Studium mit sich bringt, zu verstehen, einzuschätzen und zu meistern. Daher findet die erste Begegnung mit uns bereits bei der Immatrikulationsfeier am Fachbereich Geowissenschaften statt. In der folgenden Woche findet dann auch schon die erste Veranstaltung am Institut für Meteorologie statt, bei der Ihr die Professoren kennenlernt und wir Euch durch das Institut führen. Im Laufe des Semesters veranstalten wir dann sogenannte "Mentorien". In den Mentorien besprechen wir in kleineren Gruppen Themen, bei denen anfangs immer wieder Probleme auftauchen. Das Finden eines Praktikumsplatzes, Klausurvorbereitung oder Infos zum Auslandssemester (z.B. mit ERASMUS) sind da nur einige Beispiele. Wir haben keine festen Sprechzeiten, Ihr könnt aber jederzeit mit Fragen, Sorgen oder Nöten auf uns zukommen, ob persönlich am Institut oder per Mail an mentor@met.fu-berlin.de. Das kann alles möglich sein, was das Studium und Drumherum betrifft: Stundenplanentwurf, Fragen zu Prüfungen und Scheinkriterien, Vermittlung von weiteren Ansprechpartnern, wenn es Bedarf nach Hilfe von offizieller Seite gibt und vieles mehr.

Und wann muss ich dann eigentlich wo das erste Mal erscheinen?

Allgemeine Informationen zum Semester findet Ihr immer im Akademischen Terminkalender. Informationen zu den Lehrveranstaltungen findet ihr im Vorlesungsverzeichnis. Klickt Euch bis zum Studiengang Bachelor Meteorologie (Ihr studiert in der Studienordnung von 2012) durch, dann seht Ihr, welche Module angeboten werden und findet auch weitere Infos zu Ort/Zeit und den Lehrinhalten.  Die wichtigsten Termine zum Beginn des Semesters für Euch:  

Mathe-Brückenkurs

Für Bachelorstudierende mit Schwerpunkt Meteorologie empfehlen wir den Brückenkurs Mathematik (am Fachbereich Physik) - Vorlesung und Übung, 30.09. - 11.10.2019, 10 - 17h (LV Nummern 20000001 und 20000002)

Immatrikulationsfeier des Fachbereichs Geowissenschaften: Montag, 07. Oktober 2019, 10:00 Uhr, Ort: Geocampus Lankwitz, Malteserstr. 74-100, 12249 Berlin, Haus G, Hörsaal 202 (2. Stock) 

      • Für Neuberliner: Ihr erreicht den Geocampus am Besten mit dem Bus X83 und steigt bei der Station Emmichstraße aus. 
      • Hier stellen sich die Vertreter der einzelnen Institute (Geographische Wissenschaften, Geologische Wissenschaften, Meteorologie) kurz vor und Ihr hört ein wenig Einführung zum Fachbereich. Im Anschluss gibt es ein paar Snacks und die allseits beliebten AStA-Beutel und FU Taschen!

Einführungsveranstaltung der Meteorologie: Montag, 14. Oktober 2019, 11:00 Uhr, Ort: Institut für Meteorologie, Carl-Heinrich-Becker-Weg 6-10, 12165 Berlin, Raum 189 (Neuer Hörsaal)

      • Eure erste Veranstaltung am IfM! Das Gebäude ist am Anfang (und für viele auch noch eine ganze Weile danach) recht verwirrend, also kommt pünktlich!
      • Im Anschluss teilen wir Euch in kleinere Gruppen auf, in denen dann auch die Mentorien stattfinden und führen euch durchs Institut.

Erste Vorlesung "Grundlagen der Meteorologie: Mittwoch, 16. Oktober 2019, 09:00 Uhr, Ort: Institut für Meteorologie, Carl-Heinrich-Becker-Weg 6-10, 12165 Berlin, Raum 189 (Neuer Hörsaal)


Viel Erfolg und bis bald!!!  


Kontakt zu den Mentoren: mentor@met.fu-berlin.de

Persönlich Rede und Antwort stehen wir auch im Rahmen von FU-Info-Veranstaltungen wie den inFU:Tage (21. und 22.05.2019) , aber auch bei der Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften (15.06.2019) sind zusammen mit der Fachschaftsinitiative vertreten.