Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Institute of Environmental Physics, University of Bremen (UBR)

John P. Burrows, (PI of P2), Prof., is the chair entitled “Physics of the Ocean and Atmosphere” and director of the Institute of Environmental Physics (IUP) and Institute of Remote Sensing of the University of Bremen. His research interests lie in the following fields: kinetics spectroscopy and photochemistry, atmospheric physics and chemistry, remote sensing and global change science. He is author/co-author of over 430 peer reviewed publications and editor or author of 7 books in these fields. He is currently a member of WMO-WCRP-SPARC SSG, initiated the SPARC Limb Retrieval working group, and is also president of ICACGP, secretary of CACGP. He is the proposer and principal investigator of the satellite experiments GOME and SCIAMACHY. He was elected a fellow of the AAAS and AGU in 2004 and was awarded the William Nordberg Medal in 2006 by COSPAR, before becoming an academician of the International Academy of Aeronautics in 2008.

Mark Weber, (Co-I of P2, P3), Dr., is a senior scientist and leading the UVSAT research group in the “Physics and Chemistry of the Atmosphere” section (headed by Prof. Burrows). His research interests are in atmospheric remote sensing from space with emphasis on ozone retrieval, atmospheric dynamics and ozone chemistry, ozone-climate interaction, and solar radiation science. He has been contributing author and reviewer of the recent WMO Scientific Assessment of Ozone Depletion in 2006 and 2010. He is lead author of the subsection ‘stratospheric ozone’ in the section of ‘Global Climate’ of the Bulletin of American Meteorology Society’s annual report ‘State of the climate’. He is currently a member of the WMO Ozone Science Advisory Group as part of the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) Programme. He has been PI and Co-I of several EU, ESA, DFG, and BMBF/DLR projects.