Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Turbulent wall-bounded flows

The Data

This data collection holds statistics of direct numerical simulations of turbulent wall-bounded flows serving the study of the atmospheric boundary layer (ABL) that were generated using the open-source code tLab (link: https://github.com/turbulencia/tlab). The ABL is the lower part of the earth atmosphere (1.5-2 km), in contact with the earth surface. The ABL is influenced by wall friction and roughness as well as heat exchange with the surface, but also by the rotation of the earth (Coriolis effect) and the large-scale forcing manifest in a pressure gradient and associated geostrophic wind.

The boundary condition commonly destabilizes the flow causing boundary-layer turbulence on time scales ranging from fractions of a second to hours. Not only does the ABL take on a key role in the earth system by sharing an interface with various of its compartments (land, ocean, land-ice, see-ice and the atmosphere), but also it is the part of the atmosphere where humans experience weather.

Data in this collection consider heavily idealized cases that, however, they are based on fundamental principles of fluid mechanics only (Navier—Stokes equations). Such separation of the ABL’s fluid mechanical aspects is useful to improve the process-based understanding of the ABL, since models of higher complexity (large-eddy simulations, meso-scale codes such as WRF or MM5, and weather forecasting, such as ICON, GFS, or IFS) normally do not allow for a clear process-attribution. Hence, this collection shall foster the improvement of turbulence parameterization, still subject to major uncertainties in larger-scale models for numerical weather prediction and climate projection. In particular, the data offers possibilities to check the assumptions underlying turbulence parameterizations a priori and a posteriori.

Publication of the dataset: Ansorge C, Kostelecky J (2024) https://refubium.fu-berlin.de/handle/fub188/43499

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Turbulente Wandgrenzschichten

Die Daten

Diese Datensammlung enthält Statistiken aus direkten numerischen Simulationen turbulenter Wandgrenzschichten mit dem open-source code tLab (link: https://github.com/turbulencia/tlab). Die Simulationen dienen dem Studium der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht (ABL – „atmospheric boundary layer“). Die ABL ist der untere Teil der Erdatmosphäre (1,5-2 km), der an die Erdoberfläche grenzt. Sie wird durch die Haftbedingung am Boden zusammen mit dessen Rauigkeit und dem Wärmeaustausch mit der Oberfläche beeinflusst, aber auch durch die Drehung der Erde (Coriolis-Effekt) sowie den groß-skaligen Antrieb in Form des geostrophischen Windes.

Die Randbedingung hat einen destabilisierenden Effekt auf die Strömung und führt zu Grenzschichtturbulenz auf Zeitskalen von Sekundenbruchteilen bis hin zu Stunden. Die ABL nimmt nicht nur im Erdsystem eine zentrale Rolle ein, da sie verschiedene Teilkomponenten (Land, Wasser, Landeis, Meereis, Atmosphäre) miteinander verbindet; sie ist auch der Teil der Atmosphäre, in dem Menschen das Wettergeschehen wahrnehmen.

Die Daten in dieser Sammlung betrachten stark idealisierte Fälle, basieren dafür aber ausschließlich auf den physikalischen Grundprinzipien der Strömungsmechanik (Navier—Stokes Gleichungen). Diese Isolation der fluid-mechanischen Aspekte der Grenzschicht ist geeignet, das Verständnis der physikalischen Prozesse in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht zu verbessern, da im Falle von Beobachtungsdaten oder Daten aus komplexeren Modellen (large-eddy simulationen, meso-skalige Modelle wie WRF oder MM5 oder Wettervorhersagemodelle wie ICON, GFS oder IFS) eine Prozessattribution oft nicht möglich ist. So soll die Sammlung einen Beitrag leisten, um die Turbulenzparameterisierungen zu verbessern, welche in größer-skaligen Modellen für die numerische Wettervorhersage und Klimaprojektion immer noch mit großen Unsicherheiten behaftet sind. Konkret besteht die Möglichkeit, Annahmen, die Parameterisierungen zugrunde liegen, a priori sowie a posteriori zu prüfen.

Veröffentlichung des Datensatzes: Ansorge C, Kostelecky J (2024) https://refubium.fu-berlin.de/handle/fub188/43499