Mission: Dawn | Experiment: Framing Camera

Since its takeoff from Cape Canaveral, Florida on September 27, 2007, the US space probe Dawn was on its mission to explore the small bodies Vesta and Ceres in the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. The NASA mission aimed at investigating the formation and evolution of these bodies to find clues to the solar system’s early history. 
Asteroid Vesta

The journey through the inner solar system was successfully completed by Dawn after four years and in July 2011 its first target, the asteroid Vesta, was reached. Vesta has the shape of an ellipsoid (286x279x223 km) and orbits the sun at a distance of approximately 350 million kilometers. For one year, the probe collected scientific data of Vesta whereby the cameras on board took numerous images. These obtained views mapped surface details with a resolution of up to 20 m per pixel. Vesta’s surface was nearly completely covered by the camera during the spacecraft’s one-year-long sojourn.

After that, the spacecraft went on a two-and-a-half-years journey to the second mission target. The dwarf planet Ceres is the largest object (483x481x445 km) in the asteroid belt and almost unchanged in size and shape since its formation in the early period of the solar system. Therefore, the asteroid offers a good research object with regard to the mission purposes. From April 2015 until November 2018, Dawn's instruments continuously transmitted data about the properties of the surface of Ceres from various orbits, before the spacecraft was put into a stable orbit around Ceres by the engineers.

Since July 2018, Dawn was flying in highly elliptical orbits around Ceres. This brought the spacecraft temporarily to a distance of only 35 kilometers of the dwarf planet´s surface. In that configuration, the cameras on board were able to take images with a resolution of less than five meters per pixel. Until the end of the mission in November 2018, Dawn continued to investigate Ceres as long as the remaining fuel lasted.
Asteroid Ceres

The camera experiment on board Dawn is the Framing Camera (FC) which was developed in cooperation between the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research and the German Aerospace Center (DLR). The Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group of FU Berlin is involved in the scientific processing and evaluation of the image data.

One of the main tasks of the research group at FU Berlin is the development of a chronostratigraphic system. The dating of different landforms by determining the frequency distribution of crater sizes provides the scientists with important information to better understand the geological evolution and impact processes at Vesta.

The detailed insight into meteorite impacts at asteroids makes it possible to establish corresponding coherences with the evolution of meteorite impacts in the young solar system. Of special interest in this case is also the examination of the material distribution of rock forming minerals and water ice. On behalf of the Dawn Science Team the researchers at FU Berlin create geologic maps and date Vesta’s and Ceres´ surface.

FINANCIAL SUPPORT • PROJECT FUNDING


 • Reference number 50 OW 1505
 • Funded by the Space Administration of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR) with means of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.
 • Latest Term:  Nov 01, 2015 - Mar 31, 2020

Mission: Dawn | Experiment: Framing Camera

Die US-amerikanische Weltraumsonde Dawn befindet sich seit dem Start am 27.09.2007 von Cape Canaveral (Florida) auf einer mehrjährigen Mission zur Erforschung der Kleinkörper Vesta und Ceres im Asteroidengürtel zwischen Mars und Jupiter. Die NASA-Mission dient der Erforschung der Entstehung und Entwicklung dieser Körper als Zeugen der Frühgeschichte des Sonnensystems.
Asteroid Vesta

Die Reise durch das innere Sonnensystem hat die Raumsonde Dawn nach vier Jahren erfolgreich abgeschlossen und im Juli 2011 ihr erstes Ziel, den Asteroiden Vesta, erreicht. Vesta hat die Form eines Ellipsoiden (286x279x223 km) und umkreist die Sonne in einem Abstand von rund 350 Millionen Kilometern. Ein Jahr lang sammelte die Sonde Daten von Vesta, wobei die Kamerasysteme an Bord der Sonde zahlreiche Aufnahmen lieferten, die Oberflächendetails mit einer Auflösung von bis zu 20 Metern pro Pixeln abbildeten. Vestas Oberfläche wurde im Verlauf des einjährigen Aufenthalts der Sonde nahezu vollständig erfasst.

Danach begann die zweieinhalb Jahre dauernde Reise zum zweiten Missionsziel, Ceres. Der Zwergplanet ist der größte Körper des Asteroidengürtels (483x481x445 km) und seit seiner Entstehung in der Frühzeit des Sonnensystems in Form und Oberflächenstruktur nahezu unverändert geblieben und bietet daher ein gutes Untersuchungsobjekt im Hinblick auf die Missionszwecke. Im April 2015 erreichte Dawn den Asteroiden und liefert seitdem aus verschiedenen Orbits heraus Daten über dessen Oberflächenbeschaffenheit.

Seit Juli 2018 befindet sich Dawn in einer stark elliptischen Umlaufbahn um Ceres. Dadurch wird die Raumsonde zeitweilig bis auf 35 Kilometer an die Oberfläche des Zwergplaneten herangeführt. Die Kameras können in dieser Konstellation einzelne Aufnahmen mit einer Auflösung von weniger als 5 Metern pro Pixel liefern. Bis zum Missionsende in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2018 wird Dawn im Orbit um Ceres bleiben und ihn weiter untersuchen bis der letzte Treibstoffrest endgültig verbraucht ist.
Asteroid Ceres

Die Framing Camera (FC) ist das Kamera-Experiment an Bord der Sonde und wurde in Kooperation zwischen dem Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt. Die Arbeitsgruppe der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung an der Freien Universität Berlin ist an der wissenschaftlichen Prozessierung und Auswertung der Bilddaten beteiligt.

Eine der Hauptaufgaben der Arbeitsgruppe an der Freien Universität Berlin besteht in der Entwicklung eines chronostrati­­graphischen Systems. Die Datierung unterschiedlicher Oberflächenformen durch die Bestimmung der Kratergrößen-Häufigkeitsverteilung liefert den Wissenschaftlern wichtige Informationen zur geologischen Entwicklung und den Impaktprozessen auf Asteroiden. Diese Erkenntnisse erlauben bessere Rückschlüsse auf die Entwicklung des Meteoritenbom­barde­ments im jungen Sonnensystem. Ebenfalls von Interesse ist dabei auch die Untersuchung der Materialverteilung gesteinsbildender Minerale und des Wassereises. Im Auftrag des Dawn Science Teams werden an der FU Berlin geologische Karten und Datierungen der Oberfläche von Vesta und Ceres erstellt.

DRITTMITTEL • PROJEKTFÖRDERUNG


 • Förderkennzeichen 50 OW 1505
 • Finanziert durch das Raumfahrtmanagement des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie.
 • Aktueller Förderungszeitraum:  01.11.2015 - 31.03.2020