Information about the DSI

A Dynamic Weather and Climate State Index

Fundamentals

The Dynamic State Index (DSI) is being introduced on the basis of a newly developed theory termed the Energy-Vorticity Theory (EVT). As a weather index, the DSI can describe the temporal sequence and intensity of areas of high and low pressure; but as a climate index, it can also diagnose climate change based on the variation in solar radiation or the influences of friction. In physical terms, the index is a parameter that combines the retention of energy and the atmospheric vorticity with each other. If the index is at zero, the atmosphere is in a stable basic energy-vorticity state. The new idea is to determine the variability of the weather and the climate as deviations from this characteristic status.

 

 

DSI – Weather Dynamics

If the index is positive, the large-scale weather pattern is characterized by extended areas of high pressure. If, however, it takes on a negative value, atmospheric activity features mainly low-pressure vortices (cyclones) instead. Hot summers, such as that experienced in Europe in 1997, are characterized by especially low fluctuations in this index.

 

The dependency between the index and the large-scale weather patterns over Central Europe according to the classification proposed by Hess and Brezowsky makes clear the connection with the emergence of the weather systems. The spectrum of weather patterns shows a spectrum that is twice as broad under the influence of high pressure as is the case under cyclonal conditions.

 

DSI – Correlations with Temperature and Precipitation

Of particular interest are the correlations between the index and the meteorological parameters, especially temperature and precipitation. These parameters naturally depend on the specific season of the year; for instance, during the spring, especially high average temperatures are observed in the area of the base state (DSI = 0).

 

If, however, the index is correlated with precipitation, it is precisely the base energy-vorticity state that is characterized by low values over Central Europe. Here, we can clearly see the connection between precipitation activity and the intensity of the synoptic fluctuations, meaning the weather systems that are moving over the area.

 

 

DSI – Climate Status

To follow the longer-term seasonal to annual variability of weather conditions, it is a good idea to average the index over time. This makes it clearer that, for instance, the winter of 1995–96 was characterized to a particular degree by long-lasting high pressure patterns. This situation resulted in a cold, extremely dry winter in Central Europe.

 

Averaged over time, positive values on the index show a strengthening, while negative values demonstrate a weakening, of circulation. Consistently positive values are seen over the warm water of the North Atlantic in particular. Here, circulation is stimulated by strong thermal flows in the atmosphere.

Infos über den DSI

Ein dynamischer Wetter- und Klima-Zustandsindex

Grundlagen

Auf der Basis einer neu entwickelten Energie-Wirbel-Theorie wird ein dynamischer Zustandsindex eingeführt. Dieser kann als Wetter-Index die zeitliche Abfolge und Intensität von Hoch- und Tiefdruckgebieten beschreiben, aber auch als Klima-Index die Veränderung des Klimas aufgrund der Variation der solaren Einstrahlung oder der Reibungseinflüsse diagnostizieren. Physikalisch ist der Index eine Größe, die die Erhaltung der Energie und der atmosphärischen Wirbelgrößen miteinander verbindet. Hat der Index den Wert Null, so befindet sich die Atmosphäre in einem stabilen Energie-Wirbel-Grundzustand. Die neue Idee ist es, die Variabilität des Wetters und des Klimas als Abweichungen von diesem ausgezeichneten Zustand zu erfassen.

 

DSI - Wetterdynamik

Ist der Index positiv, so ist die Großwetterlage durch ausgedehnte Hochdruckgebiete geprägt. Nimmt er dagegen negative Werte an, wird das atmosphärische Geschehen eher durch Tiefdruckwirbel gekennzeichnet. Heiße Sommer, wie im Jahre 1997, sind durch besonders geringe Fluktuationen des Index ausgezeichnet.

 

Die Abhängigkeit zwischen dem Index und den Großwetterlagen über Mitteleuropa nach der Klassifikation von Hess & Brezowsky verdeutlicht den Zusammenhang mit dem Auftreten der Wettersysteme. Das Spektrum der Wetterlagen zeigt bei Hochdruckeinfluß eine doppelt so große Bandbreite, wie unter zyklonalen Bedingungen.

 

DSI - Korrelationen mit Temperatur und Niederschlag

Von besonderem Interesse sind die Korrelationen des Index mit den meteorologischen Parametern, vor allem Temperatur und Niederschlag. Diese sind natürlich von der jeweiligen Jahreszeit abhängig, zum Beispiel erkennt man im Frühling besonders hohe Durchschnittstemperaturen in der Nähe des Grundzustandes (DSI=0).

Wird hingegen der Index mit dem Niederschlag korreliert, so ist gerade der Energie-Wirbel-Grundzustand durch geringe Werte über Mitteleuropa gekennzeichnet. Hier zeigt sich deutlich der Zusammenhang zwischen Niederschlagsaktivität und der Intensität der synoptischen Fluktuationen, d.h. der durchziehenden Wettersysteme.

 

DSI - Klimazustand

Um die längerfristige saisonale bis jährliche Variabilität der Witterung verfolgen zu können, ist es sinnvoll, den Index zeitlich zu mitteln. Dadurch wird deutlicher, daß insbesondere der Winter 1995/96 durch langandauernde Hochdrucklagen geprägt war. Dies hatte in Mitteleuropa einen kalten und extrem trockenen Winter zur Folge.

Im zeitlichen Mittel kennzeichnen positive Werte des Index eine Verstärkung, negative hingegen eine Abschwächung der Zirkulation. Speziell über dem erwärmten Wasser des Nordatlantik erkennt man durchweg positive Werte. Hier wird die Zirkulation durch starke Wärmeflüsse in die Atmosphäre angefacht.