History of MIKS

 

Today

Today, MIKS not only handles data communication for many types of data (local, regional, national, international), but also operates a number of general servers at the institute, including the mail server, FTP server, WEB server, Ninjo server, MSG reception and DWDSAT reception.

Alongside this operational data field, MIKS operates a number of externally funded projects, which fall into three categories : research and development projects with partners from business and industry, visualizations for the media sector (currently Terra3D) and information projects for the public, the majority of which involve student participation.


 

The Beginning

The Meteorological Information and Communication Systems (MIKS) group was first established in 1985/1986, when a computer link to the Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD, German National Weather Service)  (AFW system) was established, laying the cornerstone for operational digital data processing within the Institute's weather service.

During the first few years, a number of fundamental solutions were established. Planning and realization of automatic data processing chains was the first step. The incoming data consisted of synoptic data, model data, aerological data (and more) in text form, and imaging data as well as satellite data and radar images. The group's objective was to make the incoming data available to the other working groups, archive the data, and provide current, round-the-clock weather forecasting service with all the necessary automatic products, as well as ensuring communication with customers.

Business Weather Service

It was at that time that the Institute operated its “Business Weather Service,” which ensured that weather information was available to the public, the police and fire departments, media outlets, and all other customers in Berlin and the surrounding area.

Berlin Weather Map

The Berliner Wetterkarte was established as a daily weather report that was sent to customers all over the world. In 1986, the first Berlin Weather Map was published, with automatically decrypted and plotted weather reports prepared using programs the unit itself had developed.

WMO Station 10381

Weather monitoring was a major focus for the Institute right from the start. The Dahlem district of Berlin is home to the principal climate and synoptic data station, which supplies regular encrypted weather data (“weather telegrams”) to the worldwide network

Breaking New Ground

Wherever there was a need to be met, the group had to create its own products to address that need. The institute did groundbreaking work in a number of fields. For example, researchers at the institute worked together with SFB (a regional broadcaster in Berlin, now RBB) and Technische Universität to create a fully automated job chain that prepared incoming weather information for the radio weather report and used a data link to supply the information directly to the broadcasting studio, where it appeared on screen in front of the announcer or editor. Everything that could possibly be produced automatically on a repeat basis each day was automated, even including automatically generated texts made up of text components for the broadcasters’ weather reports. This was the only economical way to provide the rising number of private broadcasters with weather information and forecasts.

Externally Funded Projects

Since 1992, MIKS has been involved in externally funded projects that are working on the visualization of weather information for the media. After the Business Weather Service was eliminated at the end of 1993, MIKS intensified its work on these externally funded projects. For example, the parties involved in the “TeleVIS” project in 1997 were able to take a chance and spin off a new company from the project. The company, MeteoGraphics, now has more than 25 employees and is one of the best-known visualization companies in Europe.

Geschichte der Gruppe MIKS

 

Heute

Heute betreut MIKS neben der Datenkommunikation für viele Arten von Daten (lokal, regional, national, international)  einige allgemeine Server im Institut wie : Mail-Sever, FTP-Server, www-Server NinJo-Server, MSG-Empfang, DWDSAT-Empfang.
Neben diesem operationellen Datenbereich betreibt  MIKS  diverse Drittmittelprojekte, die sich in drei Kategorien unterteilen lassen : Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte mit Partnern in der Wirtschaft und Industrie, Visualisierungen für den Medienbereich (aktuell Terra3D) und Informationsprojekte für die Öffentlichkeit, die überwiegend mit Studierenden durchgeführt werden.

 

Der Beginn

Ihren Ursprung hatte die Gruppe "Meteorologische Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme" (MIKS) im Jahr 1985/ 1986, als mit einer Rechnerverbindung zum Deutschen Wetterdienst (AFW-System) der Grundstein für die operative digitale Datenverarbeitung im Wetterdienst des Instituts gelegt wurde.
In den ersten Jahren wurden viele Prinzipienlösungen geschaffen. Das Planen und Realisieren automatischer Datenverarbeitungsketten war der erste Schritt. Die eingehenden Daten bestanden aus synoptischen Daten, Modelldaten, aerologischen Daten (u.m.) in Textform, sowie Bilddaten wie Satellitendaten und Radarbildern. Es galt, die eingehenden Daten anderen Arbeitsgruppen verfügbar zu machen, zu archivieren und einen aktuellen Rund-um-die-Uhr-Vorhersagedienst mit allen nötigen automatischen Produkten zu versorgen und für die Kommunikation zu den Kunden zu sorgen.

Wirtschaftswetterdienst

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt betrieb das Institut den sog. "Wirtschaftswetterdienst", gewährleistete also den Wetterdienst für die Öffentlichkeit, Polizei und Feuerwehr, Medien und alle anderen Kunden im Berliner Raum.

Berliner Wetterkarte

Mit der Berliner Wetterkarte wurde eine tägliche Wetterzeitung erstellt, die an Kunden in aller Welt versandt wurde. Am x.x.1986 erschien die erste Berliner Wetterkarte mit automatisch entschlüsselten und geplotteten Wettermeldungen, die mit selbst entwickelten Programmen erstellt wurde.

WMO-Station 10381

Wetterbeobachtung war auch schon von Anfang an ein Thema des Instituts. Berlin-Dahlem als hauptamtliche Klima- und Synopstation speist die regelmäßigen Wetterverschlüsselungen (Wettertelegramme) in das weltweite Netz ein.

Pionierarbeit

Für all die Bedürfnisse galt es, die entsprechenden Produkte zu erstellen. Auf vielen Gebieten wurde Pionierarbeit geleistet. So wurde z.B. zusammen mit dem SFB (Regionalsender in Berlin, heute RBB) und der TU eine vollautomatische Jobkette geschaffen, die die eingehenden Wettermeldungen für den Radiowetterbericht aufbereitete und über eine Datenverbindung direkt in das Sendestudio auf den Bildschirm des Moderators oder Redakteurs lieferte. Alles - was in täglich wiederkehrender Weise automatisch hergestellt werden konnte, wurde automatisiert, bis hin zu automatisch generierten Texten aus Textbausteinen für die Wetterberichte der Sender. Nur so konnte die steigende Zahl der privaten Sender ökonomisch mit Wetterdaten und Vorhersagen versorgt werden.

Drittmittelprojekte

Seit 1992 beschäftigt sich MIKS im Rahmen von Drittmittelprojekten mit der Visualisierung von Wetterdaten für die Medien. Nach dem Wegfall des Wirtschaftswetterdienstes Ende 1993 wurde die drittmittelfinanzierte Projektarbeit intensiviert.
So konnte aus dem Projekt  "TeleVIS"  im Jahr 1997  eine Firmen-Ausgründung gewagt werden. Die Firma MeteoGraphics beschäftigt inzwischen mehr als 25 Mitarbeiter und zählt zu den bekanntesten Visualisierungsfirmen in Europa.