Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer

Frau Prof. Heike Rauer

German Aerospace Centre (DLR)

Head of the Institute of Planetary Research

Jointly Appointed Professor

Address Rutherfordstraße 2
12489 Berlin
Telephone (+49 30) 67055-430 (DLR)
Fax (+49 30) 67055-340 (DLR)
Email heike.rauer[at]dlr.de
Homepage DLR Institute of Planetary Research

Heike Rauer earned her degree in Physics from the University of Hannover in 1986. She completed a doctorate at the University of Göttingen in 1991 with a research paper on cometary plasma tails, which she wrote at the former Max Planck Institute for Aeronomics (now called the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research) in Katlenburg-Lindau. Awarded a research fellowship by the European Space Agency (ESA), she worked at the Observatoire de Paris – Meudon from 1995 to 1997.

During her subsequent period at DLR, Heike Rauer completed her post-doctoral qualification (Habilitation) at the Technical University of Berlin in 2004, where she taught at the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics as professor for Planetary Physics. She moved to the Department of Geosciences at the Freie University of Berlin on 1 November 2017, where she specialised in planetology.

Since 2013, Rauer has been Head of the instrument consortium for the ESA space telescope PLATO, which will survey the Milky Way for planets, in particular Earth-like planets, from 2026. She is a member of the science team in the Next Generation Transit Survey (NGTS), a network of 12 automatically operating telescopes that search for exoplanets at Paranal Observatory, which is part of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile.

She was Germany’s representative and co-investigator in the space telescope project CoRoT of CNES and ESA from 2006 to 2014. She was also part of the team for the MIRO microwave spectrometer on the Rosetta mission that was used to identify cometary gases. (Source: DLR press release from 1 Nov 2017)

Heike Rauer's scientific work focuses on the search for and characterisation of extrasolar planets through use of the transit method with space telescopes and ground-based observation campaigns. She also conducts research into the modelling of 'exoplanet' atmospheres and their spectroscopic analysis. One of the aims is to characterise these planets with regard to their habitability, and hence to potentially identify traces of life in future. Another focus of her research is to be able to draw some conclusions on the nascent periods of the Solar System, at the time when life first emerged on Earth. (Source: DLR press release from 11 Nov 2017)

How did the Solar System form? Are we alone in the Universe? What scientific methods can we use to prove the existence of extraterrestrial lifeforms? These questions fascinate scientists and non-scientists alike. Planetary research seeks to find answers. "The art of planetary research": Interview with Prof. Heike Rauer and Prof. Tilman Spohn (DLR press release from 16 Nov 2017).

Heike Rauer is further Principal Investigator of project C5 within the Transregional Collaborative Research Center TRR 170. Project C5 deals with early interior-surface-atmosphere interactions on the terrestrial planets. During the early phases of planet building, the atmospheric surface temperature may heavily influence the thermochemical evolution of the magma ocean. There is a gap in knowledge however, regarding how long the surface phase of the magma ocean was molten and what are the implications for mixing of impacting material into the interior. We address this knowledge gap by coupling a state-of-the-art atmospheric evolution model with an interior outgassing model. (Source: TRR-170 Late Accretion onto Terrestrial Planets)

» elib (electronic library) DLR Publications

Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer

Frau Prof. Heike Rauer

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leitung des Instituts für Planetenforschung

Sonderprofessur

Adresse Rutherfordstraße 2
12489 Berlin
Telefon (030) 67055-430 (DLR)
Fax (030) 67055-340 (DLR)
E-Mail heike.rauer[at]dlr.de
Homepage Institut für Planetenforschung (DLR)

Heike Rauer erwarb ihr Diplom in Physik 1986 an der Leibniz-Universität in Hannover. 1991 wurde sie mit einer am damaligen Max-Planck-Institut für Aeronomie in Katlenburg-Lindau durchgeführten Forschungsarbeit zu Plasmaschweifen von Kometen an der Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen promoviert. Von 1995 bis 1997 arbeitete sie als Forschungsstipendiatin der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA am Observatoire de Paris – Meudon.

2004 habilitierte Heike Rauer an der Technischen Universität Berlin und lehrte dort als Professorin für Planetenphysik am Zentrum für Astronomie und Astrophysik. Zum 1. November 2017 wechselte sie an die Freie Universität Berlin in den Fachbereich Geowissenschaften, Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung.

Seit 2013 leitet Heike Rauer das Instrumentenkonsortium für das ESA-Weltraumteleskop PLATO, das ab 2026 in der Milchstraße nach Planeten, insbesondere erdähnlichen, suchen wird. Sie ist Mitglied des Wissenschaftsteams des Next Generation Transit Survey (NGTS), ein Netzwerk aus zwölf automatisch operierenden Teleskopen, das am Paranal-Observatorium der Europäischen Südsternwarte ESO in Chile nach Exoplaneten sucht.

Darüber hinaus ist Heike Rauer Koordinatorin des DFG Schwerpunktprogramms 1992 "Exploring the Diversity of Extrasolar Planets". Von 2006 bis 2014 war sie Repräsentantin für Deutschland und Co-Investigatorin des französisch-europäischen Weltraumteleskops CoRoT. Ferner arbeitete Heike Rauer im Wissenschaftlerteam des Mikrowellenteleskops MIRO auf der ESA-Mission Rosetta, das der Identifikation von Kometengasen diente. (Quelle: DLR Pressemitteilung vom 01.11.2017)

Der Schwerpunkt von Heike Rauers wissenschaftlicher Arbeit ist die Suche und Charakterisierung von extrasolaren Planeten durch die sogenannte Transitmethode mit Weltraumteleskopen und erdgestützten Beobachtungskampagnen. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sie sich mit der Modellierung der Atmosphären von Exoplaneten und deren spektroskopische Untersuchung. Ziel ist es einerseits, diese Planeten hinsichtlich ihrer Habitabilität, also der Möglichkeit, Leben zu beherbergen, zu klassifizieren, um in Zukunft möglicherweise sogar Spuren von Leben nachweisen zu können. Diese Forschung zielt außerdem darauf, Aussagen über die Frühzeit des Sonnensystems treffen zu können, zu jener Zeit, als das Leben auf der Erde seinen Anfang nahm. (Quelle: DLR Pressemitteilung vom 01.11.2017)

Wie ist das Sonnensystem entstanden? Sind wir alleine im All? Und wie können wir außerirdische Lebensformen wissenschaftlich nachweisen? Diese Fragen beschäftigen Wissenschaftler und Laien gleichermaßen. Die Planetenforschung arbeitet daran, Antworten zu finden. "Die Kunst der Planetenforschung": Interview mit Prof. Heike Rauer und Prof. Tilman Spohn (DLR Pressemitteilung vom 16.11.2017).

Frau Rauer ist auch Principal Investigator des Teilprojekts C5 im Sonderforschungsbereich Transregio-170. Das Projekt C5 beschäftigt sich mit Interaktionen des frühen inneren Aufbaus von terrestrischen Planeten mit ihren Oberflächen und Atmosphären. In den frühen Phasen der Planetenbildung beeinflusste die atmosphärische Oberflächentemperatur stark die Entwicklung des Magmaozeans. Man hat noch nicht gut verstanden wie lange die Oberfläche des Magmaozeans geschmolzen war und wie sich Material, das durch Meteoriteneinschläge auf die frühe Erde gelangte, mit diesem Magmaozean vermischte und in das Planeteninnere gelangte. Ein Modell, was die Atmosphärenentwicklung mit einem Modell der inneren Ausgasung koppelt, soll zur Klärung dieser Frage beitragen. (Quelle: TRR-170 Late Accretion onto Terrestrial Planets)

» elib (electronic library) DLR Publikationen