Planetary X-Ray Fluorescence Spectrometer

The US Apollo- and the Russian Luna-missions returned hundreds of kilograms of surface rocks from the Moon to the Earth which have been used for detailed rock analysis. We therefore have high-precision geochemical information from very few locations on the Moon, whereas information about the rest of the Moon's surface is sparse. The main objective of developing a planetary X-ray fluorescence spectrometer (XRF) is the design of an experiment that allows us to precisely determine the geochemical composition of rocky surfaces from orbit.

 

Closed vacuum chamber (left image) and open test chamber with a reference sample on the left and detector on the right side (right image)

   

The first developments of a XRF laboratory prototype in the Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group go back to the work connected with the Lunar Exploration Orbiter (LEO), a national concept and phase-A study of a lunar orbiter. This concept (XRF-L) has been revised several times and has also been expanded for use in the outer solar system (XRF-J).

The experiment shall be able to identify the chemical elements of a solid body without atmosphere at a distance of 50-200 km from the surface by using the highly variable solar X-ray radiation. The chemical elements of which minerals and hence rocks are formed are of special interest to geologists. These elements are, e.g., silicon, magnesium, iron, sodium, aluminum, calcium, potassium and titanium.

The development of the X-ray fluorescence spectrometer in the project team of the FU Berlin is funded by the National Space Administration with means of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The previous project was initiated under the leadership of Prof. Neukum and led by him until March 2012. The currently granted period of eligibility is from April 2013 to September 2015 (reference number FKZ 50 JR 1303). In the ongoing project the FU Berlin co-operates with industrial partners as well as with the University of Applied Sciences Berlin (HTW) to design and construct individual components.

     

Financial support:

Space Administration of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR) with means of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy,
Reference number: 50 JR 1303

Term:

Apr 01, 2013 — Sep 30, 2015

Planetarer Röntgen-Fluoreszenzspektrometer

Die amerikanischen Apollo- und die russischen Luna-Missionen brachten hunderte Kilogramm Oberflächengestein vom Erdmond zurück zur Erde, das unter anderem für detaillierte Gesteinsanalysen verwendet wurde. Über diese Untersuchungen besitzen wir hochgenaue geochemische Informationen, während für den Rest der Mond­oberfläche die Informationen sehr viel spärlicher und ungenauer sind. Ziel der Entwicklungen eines planetaren Röntgenfluoreszenzspektrometers (XRF) ist der ­Bau eines Experimentes, das in der Lage ist, aus der Umlaufbahn die geochemische Zusammensetzung der Gesteinsoberfläche eines planetaren Körpers genau zu kartieren und zu bestimmen.

  

Geschlossene Vakuumkammer (linkes Bild) und offene Testkammer mit Referenzprobe auf der linken und Detektor auf der rechten Seite (rechtes Bild)

  

Erste Entwicklungen eines XRF-Laborprototypen in der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung gehen auf die Arbeiten im Zusammenhang mit dem Lunar Exploration Orbiter (LEO), einem nationalen Vorschlag eines Mondorbiters, zurück. Dieses Konzept (XRF-L) wurde mehrfach überarbeitet und unter anderem auch für den Einsatz im äußeren Sonnensystem erweitert (XRF-J).

Das Experiment soll in der Lage sein, aus 50-200 km Entfernung zur Oberfläche und unter Nutzung der stark variablen solaren Röntgenstrahlung die chemischen Elemente eines festen und atmosphärenlosen Körpers zu bestimmen. Besonders interessant sind für die geologischen Wissenschaften die chemischen Elemente, aus denen Minerale und damit Gesteine aufgebaut sind. Hierzu zählen vorrangig Silizium, Magnesium, Eisen, Natrium, Aluminium, Kalzium, Kalium und Titan.

Die Entwicklung des Röntgenfluoreszenzspektrometers XRF in der Projektgruppe der Freien Universität Berlin wird über Drittmittel finanziert, die vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie über das Nationale Raumfahrtmanagement bereitgestellt werden. Das Vorgänger­projekt wurde unter der Leitung von Prof. Neukum initiiert und bis März 2012 von ihm geleitet. Der aktuell bewilligte Förderungszeitraum erstreckt sich von April 2013 bis September 2015 (FKZ 50 JR 1303). Im laufenden Projekt bestehen Kooperationen mit industriellen Partnern sowie der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin (HTW) zur Konzipierung und Konstruktion einzelner Bauelemente.

     

Förderung:

Raumfahrtmanagement des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie,
Förderkennzeichen 50 JR 1303

Projektlaufzeit:

01.04.2013 — 30.09.2015