Participation of the Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group

Hochauflösende Stereokamera
High Resolution Stereo Camera HRSC

The high-resolution stereo camera HRSC is the German contribution to the Mars Express mission. The instrument provides the raw data from which our working group creates high-resolution color data, stereo images (anaglyphs), 3-D landscapes and virtual flights over the Martian surface as scientific products, but also as products for public outreach (see PR/images). In the preliminary stages raw data pass a multi-stage pre-processing at the German Aerospace Center (DLR). The resulting products are the basis of scientific research of the international HRSC team as well as of the published press products that appear both on our websites and on the websites of ESA and DLR.

The HRSC camera was developed under the leadership of Prof. Neukum (deceased) at DLR and constructed in co-operation with the industrial partners EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH. It is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof together with ESA/ESOC. The camera experiment was headed by the Principal Investigator (PI) Prof. Neukum until June 2013. The international HRSC Team consists of 40 Co-Investigators from 33 institutes and 10 nations. The leadership of the international Science Team was officially taken over by Prof. Jaumann (DLR) in July 2013. Prof. van Gasselt is Co-Investigator in the HRSC Science Team, and was the Project Coordinator of the research group at FU Berlin until March 2016 . Since April 2016, Dr. Julia Lanz-Kröchert is HRSC Project Coordinator and group leader at FU Berlin.

The HRSC camera experiment has been supported since 2003 by the National Space Administration with means of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy. Since then, the funding has been extended four times. The current period of funding is from January 1, 2013 until December 31, 2016.

Participants in the Mars Express/HRSC project:

Dr. Julia Lanz-Kröchert Project Coordinator, HRSC-CoI
Prof. Dr. Stephan van Gasselt HRSC-CoI, Project Coordinator until March 2016

Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann (DLR)

HRSC-PI
Heike Balthasar
(main contact)

Project Assistance, PR/EO, administration

Alexander Dumke Photogrammetry, remote sensing
Annette Leuschner Student Assistant
Dr. Patrick McGuire Spectral data fusion, image mosaicking
Dr. Gregory Michael Global image mosaicking, surface dating
Dr. Stefanie Musiol Geodynamic processes, PR/EO, web
Dominik Neu Photogrammetry, remote sensing
Sebastian Walter IT-administration, data processing
Wilhelm Zuschneid Geomorphological remote sensing

Beteiligung der Fachrichtung

Hochauflösende Stereokamera
Hochauflösende Stereokamera

Die hochauflösende Stereokamera HRSC ist der deutsche Instrumenten­beitrag auf der Mission Mars Express. Das Instrument liefert die Rohdaten, aus denen in unserer Arbeitsgruppe unter anderem hochaufgelöste Farbdaten, Stereobilder (Anaglyphen), 3-D-Land­schaften und virtuelle Flüge über die Marsoberfläche als Wissenschaftsdaten, aber auch als Produkte für die Öffentlichkeit erstellt werden (siehe PR/Bilder). Im Vorfeld durchlaufen die HRSC-Rohdaten im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR) eine mehrstufige Vorprozessierung. Die dabei entstehenden Produkte sind sowohl Grundlage der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit des internationalen HRSC-Teams als auch der veröffentlichten Presseprodukte, die auf unseren Webseiten, auf den Seiten der ESA und des DLR erscheinen.

Die HRSC-Kamera wurde am DLR unter der Leitung von Prof. Neukum (verstorben) entwickelt und in Kooperation mit den industriellen Partnern EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena-Optronik GmbH gebaut. Sie wird vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof in Zusammenarbeit mit ESA/ESOC betrieben. Das Kameraexperiment HRSC wurde bis Juni 2013 vom Principal Investigator (PI) Prof. Neukum geleitet. Das internationale Wissenschaftsteam besteht aus 40 Co-Investigatoren, die aus 33 Instituten und 10 Nationen kommen. Die wissenschaftliche Leitung des internationalen Teams übernahm im Juli 2013 Prof. Jaumann (DLR). Die Projektleitung der Arbeitsgruppe Planetologie und Fernerkundung an der FU Berlin hatte bis März 2016 Prof. van Gasselt inne, der auch Co-Investigator (CoI) im HRSC-Wissenschaftsteam ist. Seit dem 01.04.2016 leitet Dr. Julia Lanz-Kröchert das HRSC Projekt und die Arbeitsgruppe Planetologie und Fernerkundung an der FU Berlin.

Das Kameraexperiment HRSC wird seit 2003 durch das Nationale Raumfahrtmanagement mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert. Seitdem wurde die Förderung bereits fünfmal verlängert. Der aktive Förderzeitraum begann am 01.01.2017 und dauert bis zum 31.12.2019.

Beteiligte in der Projektgruppe Mars Express/HRSC

Dr. Julia Lanz-Kröchert Projektleitung, HRSC-CoI
Prof. Dr. Stephan van Gasselt HRSC-CoI, Projektleitung bis März 2016
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann (DLR) HRSC-PI
Heike Balthasar
(Ansprechpartnerin)
Projektassistenz, PR/EO, Administration
Alexander Dumke Photogrammetrie/Fernerkundung
Christoph Gross Spektraldatenfusion
Dr. Gregory Michael HRSC-CoI, Globale Bildmosaikierung, Oberflächendatierungen
Dr. Stefanie Musiol Geodynamische Prozesse, FEM, PR/EO, Web
Dominik Neu Photogrammetrie/Fernerkundung
Sebastian Walter IT-Administration, Datenverarbeitung
Wilhelm Zuschneid Geologisch-morphologische Fernerkundung