The Helmholtz Alliance "Planetary Evolution and Life"

The Helmholtz Alliance “Planetary Evolution and Life” under the coordinative direction of the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof examines the correlation between life and the formation and evolution of planets in our solar system. The focus of studies is planet Mars, which is investigated from its interior to its atmosphere.

   

Martian surface with craters in the region Hesperia Planum

  

The research alliance investigates the interaction between atmosphere and biosphere, interactions inside the atmosphere, the planetary magnetic field, impact events, climate evolution as well as developments of strategies for the exploration of other planets. Several institutions are significantly involved in this alliance: Along with the DLR these are the Alfred-Wegener-Institute in Potsdam, the Technical University of Berlin (TU), the Humboldt-University of Berlin (HU), the Max Planck Institutes for Biogeochemistry and Solar System Research, the Yale University (USA) and several others.

Mobility of substances and material cycles are the geological prerequisites for the evolution of life on a planet. Planetary surfaces are the contact area between the solid planetary body and its atmosphere. The planetary surface and near-surface structures are well accessible for investigations and provide information about the current condition as well as about the planets evolution in the past. To recognize possible material cycles and mobility of substances it is important to understand coherences and interactions between lithosphere and atmosphere and to compare information about the current condition with older structures.

The Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group was directly involved in the Helmholtz Alliance with research projects under the leadership of Prof. Neukum (April 2008 to March 2012) and Prof. van Gasselt (April 2012 to March 2013) respectively. The research topic “Geological Context of Life” formed the key activities of the research group. Here, especially work on age determination of planetary surfaces was performed:

  • investigations concerning the relative stratigraphy
  • absolute age determination by crater counting
  • assessment of the duration of geological processes
  • stability of environmental conditions

      

Financial support:

Helmholtz Association under the auspices of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR).
Reference number: HA20-3

Term:

Apr 01, 2008 — Mar 31, 2013

Die Helmholtz-Allianz "Planetenentwicklung und Leben"

Die Helmholtz-Allianz "Planetenentwicklung und Leben" unter koordinativer Leitung des DLR-Institutes für Planeten­forschung in Berlin-Adlershof untersucht den Zusam­menhang zwischen Leben und der Entstehung und Entwick­lung von Planeten in unserem Sonnensystem. Im Fokus der Untersuchungen steht unser Nachbarplanet, der Mars, wobei die Forschungen den gesamten Planeten, von der Atmosphäre bis zu seinem Inneren, umfassen.

   

Marsoberfläche mit Kratern in der Region Hesperia Planum

   

Die Forschungsallianz untersucht die Interaktion zwischen Atmosphäre und Biosphäre, Wechselwirkungen innerhalb der Atmosphäre, das planetare Magnetfeld, Impaktereignisse, Klimaentwicklung sowie die Entwicklung von Strategien zur Exploration anderer Planeten. Maßgeblich an dieser Allianz beteiligt sind neben dem DLR das Alfred-Wegener-Institut in Potsdam, die Technische Universität Berlin, die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Max-Planck-Institute für Biogeochemie und Sonnensystemforschung, die Yale Universität (USA) und zahlreiche andere Institutionen.

Geologische Grundvoraussetzungen für die Entwicklung von Leben auf einem Planeten sind die Mobilität von Material und Stoffkreisläufe. Planetare Oberflächen sind die Kontaktfläche zwischen dem festen Planetenkörper und seiner Atmosphäre. Die Planetenoberfläche und oberflächennahe Strukturen sind für Untersuchungen gut zugänglich und liefern neben Informationen über den heutigen Zustand auch Informationen über die Entwicklung in der Vergangenheit. Um eventuelle Stoffkreisläufe und Mobilität von Material erkennen zu können, ist es wichtig, Zusammenhänge und Wechselwirkungen zwischen Lithosphäre und Atmos­phäre zu verstehen und Informationen über den rezenten Zustand mit älteren Strukturen zu vergleichen.

                             

                                                                 

Die Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung war unter der Leitung von Prof. Neukum (April 2008 bis März 2012) bzw. Prof. van Gasselt (April 2012 bis März 2013) direkt an der Helmholtz-Allianz mit Forschungsarbeiten beteiligt. Die Forschungssäule "Geologischer Kontext von Leben" bildete den Arbeitsschwerpunkt der Fachrichtung, wobei hier insbesondere Arbeiten zur Altersdatierung von planetaren Oberflächen durchgeführt wurden:

  • Untersuchungen zur relativen Stratigraphie
  • Absolute Altersbestimmungen durch Kraterzählungen
  • Abschätzung der Dauer geologischer Prozesse
  • Stabilität von Umgebungsbedingungen

    

Förderung:

Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft unter Federführung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR),
Förderkennzeichen HA-203

Projektlaufzeit:

01.04.2008 — 31.03.2013