Cassini-Huygens Mission

Journeys to planets and moons of the Outer Solar System always pose a great challenge to space-mission design and conduct. Within the framework of the Cassini-Huygens mission US and European space agencies jointly succeeded in sending a probe and a lander to the Saturnian system, over 1 billion kilometers away. Since 2004, instruments aboard the Cassini spacecraft continuously collect scientific data and transmit spectacular and astonishing new views to Earth. Scientists of the Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group at FU Berlin are involved in the Cassini camera experiment, the Imaging Science Subsystem (ISS).

  

View from moon Iapetus to Saturn (Image Credit: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute)

   

The international Cassini-Huygens mission is a joint project of NASA, ESA and ASI, the Italian Space Agency. While NASA already successfully sent the Pioneer and Voyager probes to the Saturnian system between 1979 and 1981, Huygens, the landing capsule built by ESA, has been the first European contribution to a space mission to the Outer Solar System.

Cassini-Huygens was launched 1997 in Cape Canaveral, Florida and reached the orbit of the second largest planet of our solar system in 2004, after a journey of nearly 7 years and 3.5 billion kilometers. In December 2004, the Huygens landing capsule was released from the Cassini orbiter. One month later, Huygens successfully landed on the largest Saturnian moon Titan. Cassini itself orbits Saturn to this day and on its journey it investigates the magnetosphere of the planet as well as its rings and moons, of which to date over 60 have been discovered.

On board the Cassini orbiter we can find amongst others the Imaging Science Subsystem (ISS), a camera for images within the spectral range of the near-ultraviolet (UV), the visible light and the near-infrared (NIR). In cooperation with the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Berlin-Adlershof and supported by the National Space Administration, the Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group at FU Berlin is engaged in the planning and evaluation of image data of the Saturnian moons.

The mission, originally planned to last until 2008, was already extended twice and is now due to end in September 2017. Thus there is time for numerous more observations and investigations into the Saturnian system. The researches have exclusive data rights for about one year until the image data is archived by the Planetary Data System (PDS) of NASA and made available to the public.

Link to mission participation of the Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing Group.


Financial support:

Space Administration of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR) with means of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.
Reference number: 50 OH 1503

Term:

Jul 01, 2015 — Oct 31, 2018

Mission Cassini-Huygens

Reisen zu den großen Gasplaneten des äußeren Sonnensystems stellen die Raum­fahrt immer vor besondere Herausforderungen. Im Rahmen der Mission Cassini-Huygens ist es den US-amerikanischen und europäischen Raumfahrtagenturen gemeinsam gelungen, eine Sonde mit Landeeinheit zum über 1 Milliarde Kilometer entfernten Saturn zu senden, wo sie seit 2004 kontinuierlich wissenschaftliche Daten sammelt und spektakuläre und immer wieder überraschende neue Aufnahmen zur Erde funkt. Wissenschaftler der Arbeitsgruppe Planetologie und Fernerkundung der Freien Universität sind am Kameraexperiment dieser Forschungsmission beteiligt.

  

Blick vom Mond Iapetus in Richtung Saturn (Bildquelle: NASA/JPL/Space Science Institute)

   

Die internationale Mission Cassini-Huygens ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der NASA, ESA und ASI (italienische Weltraumagentur). Während die NASA bereits zwischen 1979 und 1981 erfolgreich Sonden zum Saturn entsandte (Pioneer 11 und Voyager), war die von der ESA gebaute Landekapsel Huygens der erste europäische Beitrag zu einer Weltraummission in das Äußere Sonnensystem.

Cassini-Huygens ist 1997 in Florida gestartet und hat nach einer Reise von fast sieben Jahren und 3,5 Milliarden Kilometern im Jahr 2004 die Umlaufbahn des zweitgrößten Planeten unseres Sonnensystems erreicht. Im Dezember 2004 erfolgte die Abtrennung der Huygens-Landekapsel vom Cassini-Orbiter, und einen Monat später landete Huygens erfolgreich auf dem großen Saturnmond Titan. Cassini selbst umläuft bis heute den Saturn und erforscht auf seiner Reise durch das Saturnsystem intensiv die Magnetosphäre des Planeten sowie die Ringe und die Monde, von denen bisher über 60 entdeckt wurden.

An Bord des Cassini-Orbiters befindet sich unter anderem das Imaging Science Subsystem (ISS), eine Kamera für Aufnahmen im Bereich des nahen Ultravioletts, des sichtbaren Lichtes sowie des nahen Infrarots. Die Arbeitsgruppe der FU Berlin beschäftigt sich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Berlin-Adlershof und mit Unterstützung der Nationalen Raumfahrtagentur mit der Planung und Auswertung von Bilddaten der Saturnmonde.

Die Mission, ursprünglich bis 2008 geplant, verläuft so erfolgreich, dass sie inzwischen schon zweimal verlängert wurde und erst im September 2017 enden soll. Dadurch ergibt sich die Zeit für zahlreiche weitere Beobachtungen und Untersuchungen im Saturnsystem. Die Wissen­schaftler haben etwa ein Jahr lang exklusive Datenrechte, bevor die Bilder vom Planetary Data System (PDS) der NASA archiviert und der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Link zur Missionsbeteiligung der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung.

   

Förderung:

Raumfahrtmanagement des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie,
Förderkennzeichen 50 OH 1503

Projektlaufzeit:

01.07.2015 — 31.10.2018