Information

Profile

The research focuses of the subject area „Environmental Hydrology and Resource Management“ lie within the field of hydrological processes and geomorphological processes coupled in different time and spatial scales and also in the analysis of extreme hydrological situations (floods, low-water, droughts) and processes associated with these situations (material flow).

These include inter alia interactions of land cover/land use and hydrological processes in river basins, fluid and sediment dynamics in standing waters and fluvial morphodynamics. On the basis of these investigations appropriate management strategies are developed to mitigate potential damage in case of extreme hydrological situations (e.g. decentralized, integrated flood protection) and concepts for integrated water resource management (IWRM).

Another focus lies on palaeo-hydrological studies for the reconstruction of ecosystem dynamics as well as climate and other environmental changes derived from sedimentation processes and bioindicators.

The methodological spectrum ranges from field and laboratory investigations and the development of comprehensive monitoring concepts up to process-oriented modeling of water bodies and their corresponding catchment areas.


Contact

Freie Universität Berlin
Department of Earth Sciences
Institute of Geographical Sciences
Applied Geography, Environmental Hydrology and Resource Management

Campus Lankwitz, Building H
Malteserstraße 74 - 100
12249 Berlin

Office Prof. Dr. Schulte:

Ms. Maria von Bodecker
Phone: (+49 30) 838 70252
Fax: (+49 30) 838 458705
Email: bodecker@zedat.fu-berlin.de

Infos zur Fachrichtung

Fachrichtungsprofil

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Fachrichtung „Umwelthydrologie und Ressourcenmanagement“ liegen im Bereich der hydrologischen und daran gekoppelten geomorphologischen Prozesse in unterschiedlichen Zeit- und Raumskalen sowie der Analyse hydrologischer Extremsituationen (Hoch- und Niedrigwasser, Dürren) und damit verbundener Prozesse (Stoffflüsse).

Dazu gehören u.a. die Interaktionen von Bodenbedeckung/Landnutzung und hydrologischen Prozessen in Flusseinzugsgebieten, die Strömungs- und Sedimentdynamik in stehenden und fließenden Gewässern sowie die fluviale Morphodynamik. Auf Basis dieser Untersuchungen werden geeignete Managementstrategien zur Risikominderung bei hydrologischen Extremereignissen (z.B. dezentraler, integrierter Hochwasserschutz) und Konzepte zum integrierten Wasserressourcenmanagement (IWRM) entwickelt.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich paläohydrologischer Untersuchungen für die Rekonstruktionen der Ökosystemdynamik sowie Klima- und sonstige Umweltveränderungen, die aus Sedimentationsprozessen und Bioindikatoren abgeleitet werden.

Das methodische Spektrum erstreckt sich von Feld- und Laboruntersuchungen über die Entwicklung umfassender Monitoringkonzepte bis zur prozessorientierten Modellierung von Gewässern und ihren Einzugsgebieten.


Kontakt

Freie Universität Berlin
Fachbereich Geowissenschaften
Institut für Geographische Wissenschaften
Fachrichtung Angewandte Geographie, Umwelthydrologie und Ressourcenmanagement

Campus Lankwitz, Haus H
Malteserstraße 74 - 100
12249 Berlin

Sekretariat Prof. Dr. Schulte:

Frau Maria von Bodecker
Tel.: (+49 30) 838 70252
Fax: (+49 30) 838 458705

Email: bodecker@zedat.fu-berlin.de